All Collections
Factsheets & Guides
Undo your latest payroll
Undo your latest payroll

Undo the last payroll so you can make changes and run it again.

Rebecca Russell avatar
Written by Rebecca Russell
Updated this week

The Undo payroll feature allows you to undo your last run payroll with just one click.

You can make any missing changes before closing your payroll again for the month.

Feature overview

βœ… The Undo payroll is complete within seconds.

βœ… You can re-run your payroll up to the day before your payday.

βœ… You can enter any changes as usual before re-running your payroll.

βœ… Payslips are regenerated for any employees whose pay has changed.

βœ… All documents and reports will be regenerated based on the new run payroll.

βœ… Your original documents are archived in a separate folder.

❌ You can only undo your payroll up to the day before your submissions are sent to HMRC.

❌ The undo payroll will delete any changes made between now and the time you ran your payroll.

❌ You need to re-approve any leaves or expenses you approved in the last month.

❌ Undo payroll can't be used in your onboarding month.

❌ Undo payroll can't be used if you have recently transferred an employee from one entity to another.

How to undo your latest payroll

  1. From the left, choose My Dashboard.

  2. If you've already run your payroll for the month, before your payday, you'll see the option to Re-open your payroll.
    ​

  3. Select the type of corrections you want to make, then click Next.
    This helps us understand why you might need to undo your payroll and how we can make these corrections easier in the future.

  4. Select the I accept the loss of data entered for the current month checkbox to acknowledge the changes you might lose, then click Next.

  5. To download a list of payments you may have already sent to your payment provider, click Download payments to make.

  6. Click Re-open payroll.

  7. You'll be redirected to the Run payroll page for the month you want to make adjustments to.
    An orange warning bar also appears at the top to remind all admins that the payroll must be re-run by the day before your payday.

  8. Remember to re-approve any leaves or expenses as necessary for the re-opened payroll.

  9. Once you've entered your changes, from the orange warning bar, click Close payroll. Or, from the left, choose My Dashboard, then Run payroll.

  10. A message appears to confirm which of your files have been regenerated; click Close.

Where can I find the archived payslips?

Note: These payslips are only available to the admin. Employees can't view their original payslips. Instead, when you re-run your payroll, they will see their corrected payslip.

To view or download the original payslips created the first time you ran payroll;

  1. From the left, choose Documents, then Employee documents.

  2. Open the Archived payslips folder, then the folder for the relevant month.

    The name of each payslip file includes the date and time the payroll was originally run.

Where can I find the archived documents?

To view or download the original documents created the first time you ran payroll:

  1. From the left, choose Documents, then Company documents.

  2. Open the Archived company documents folder, then the folder for the relevant month.

    The folder includes payment files, journals and pension upload files.

Did this answer your question?